First Offender Act
I am 40 years old, I have been a good citizen, paid my taxes, voted and until three years ago had never been in a court room except as a juror. I left a company Christmas party late on evening a was pulled over for speeding but was then charged with DUI. I blew a .12 in Geogia at the time .10 was considered the legal limit. I was advised by my attorney to plead guilty. This is my first DUI so I paid a fine, Jail time was waived, my license was suspended for 120 days, I completed 40 hours community service. Again with the exception of this event I have lived a productive, successful and law abiding life. I just learned that Georgia has a First Offender Act that allows a person convicted of a misdemeanor an opportunity to become completely exhonerated of the charge if he meets all requirements of probation period. My question is am I eligible and if so how do I go about partitioning the court for this?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: First Offender Act
First Offender treatment is not available in your case. Georgia Statute specifically excludes first offender treatment for DUI cases.
J. Michael Mullis
Related Questions & Answers
.06 DUI Less Safe? I was pulled over by an officer who had previously arrested me... Asked 2/02/03, 7:56 pm in United States Georgia Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I was hit by a drunk driver, what can I do about it? On November 19th, 2001 at 8:00... Asked 1/12/03, 10:14 am in United States Georgia Drunk Driving & DUI Law
First offenders plea for Dui Can I plea first offenders plea for Dui Asked 1/06/03, 9:40 pm in United States Georgia Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Was I DUI ? i was stopped 40 min. after leaving my parents home. i had smoked a... Asked 12/28/02, 6:19 pm in United States Georgia Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Employment & DUI history I had a Michigan drivers licence, but was given a DUI... Asked 10/23/02, 11:32 pm in United States Georgia Drunk Driving & DUI Law