Georgia | Family Law
Legal Question
cancer patient with child support garnishment
Is is possible to get a reprieve from child support payments that are based on past higher income levels for a cancer patient who cannot work as much as before?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Ms. Tran Lankford |
Re: cancer patient with child support garnishment If your financial circumstance has substantially changed, you can file a Motion for Modification of the prior Child Support Order. Depending on how long ago your Child Support Order was filed, it may benefit you under the relatively new Child Support law in Georgia to do a Modification. If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact me.
In responding to your question in this matter, the Firm is not expressing an opinion on whether you will ultimately prevail if legal action is pursued. You should not refrain from seeking legal assistance from another firm if you desire another opinion. Because time is always important, and could be critically short in your case, you may wish to seek another opinion as soon as possible.
The information contained in this correspondence is provided as a free consultation only, based on the limited facts given by you, and does not constitute legal advice. I try to provide quality information, but I make no claims, promises or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained in or linked to this E-mail. As legal advice must be tailored to the specific circumstances of each case, and laws are constantly changing, nothing provided herein should be used as a substitute for the advice of competent counsel. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8772
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
RAGOLE & ASSOCIATES, LLC
Roswell, GA
Questions Answered: 723
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-17
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Harold D. Holcombe, P.C.
Lawrenceville, GA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-04
GeorgiaFamilyLaw.com : Worrall Law LLC
Marietta, GA
Questions Answered: 191
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Law Offices of Pearlie L. Bush
Lithonia (east Metro Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 189
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-05-24
Search Questions and Answers


