Georgia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/13/09, 1:15 pm

Legal Question


My daughter and 16 turning 17 in december. she is pregnant and her baby is due next week. we were wondering if after she has the baby will she be considered and adult?


question bubble
11/18/09, 2:11 pm

Legal Answer


No.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 4:22 pm

Legal Answer


Your daughter will still be considered a minor unless she is emancipated or turns 18. One way she could become emancipated is to marry the father. Also, if she can support herself sufficiently, the court could deem her emancipated.

Paula McGill

Attorney at Law 191 Peachtree Street, Suite 3300 Atlanta, GA 30303

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search