Legal Question in Family Law in Georgia

I was divorced 6 yrs ago in Georgia. My ex wife remarried about 2 yrs ago. Our daughter wants to be adopted by her stepfather which I have consented too. Does this adoption my paying child support.

Asked on 1/22/10, 6:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Paula McGill Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably. However, once the adoption is complete or during the process, you should return to court to file a motion to release you of your child support obligation.

Read more
1/27/10, 9:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88127 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now