Georgia  |  Family Law

question bubble
10/28/09, 11:14 pm

Legal Question


Ex-husband's counsel filed a contempt motion reciting for his client that I failed to do what was asked in the final decree and demands were not completely satisfied. The judge found me in contempt and charged me with actions which date back a year while divorce was pending. Nonetheless, I am ordered to pay all his attorney's fees incurred in this contempt or face jail time. To win a contempt order, doesn't the respondent have to have the ability to comply with it? What if the spouse ordered to pay is out of work and without resources? If the judge makes a ruling for someone to pay, shouldn't they ask about their earnings or question the ABILITY to comply with the contempt order? What filing or action do I need to take, that because I can't do the impossinble, I go to jail? I am going on 60yrs old, unemployed, training online, working seasonal jobs.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search