Georgia  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/30/08, 12:37 pm

legal separation

I would like to know what the next step would be once my husband and I have filled and our downloaded separation papers. We live in the state of Ga. Notarized I'm sure but then do we file it with the courts or what??

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/01/08, 7:07 pm by Charles W. Field

Re: legal separation

No offense intended, but you may be getting in way over your head on something that depends on all the I's being dotted and the T's crossed. Consult with a local attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law 911 Duluth Hwy., Ste. D-3211 Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA 30043

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/30/08, 12:45 pm by Scott Riddle

Re: legal separation

The next step is to get a qualified lawyer, and not waste time on meaningless "separation papers." Even if you had the appropriate forms (for whatever it is you are trying to accomplish), you would not know the proper steps.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/30/08, 1:01 pm by Glen Ashman

Re: legal separation

Start by throwing them out. There is no such thing in Georgia as "legal separation papers." In Georgia you either get a divorce, or, in what usually is an ill-advised expensive move, do an intermediate step called separate maintenance, which is a suit seeking alimony and child support.

You need to sit down with a lawyer and determine what steps need to be done and then do those steps properly. You will not find the answer downloading useless forms online.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search