Legal Question in Family Law in Georgia

What are the parameters in which the violent act has to occur in order for it to be considered family violence, specifically referring to place of incident? For example, if the act occurs on a private, domestic residence property like one of the parties' backyard or driveway but not inside the house, can the police officer charge them under the family violence act?

Asked on 6/21/13, 9:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Gardner Hicks, Massey & Gardner, LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, they can. The charge deals with the relationship of the accused and the victim, not where the act occurs.

Read more
6/21/13, 4:15 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now