Georgia  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/04/11, 9:54 am

My ex and I share joint custody of three children, though physical custody of two girls are with him, and I have physical custody of our son. I recently filed for contempt against him because he is in violation of our ordered visitation.

I filed, had him served, and now he has answered but also included a counterclaim.

He is claiming in his counterclaim that I do not provide meals for the girls when they are with me, and claiming I have willfully refused to pay child support.

I deny the meals claim (because I do feed my kids), but I am behind in child support: I lost my job and fell way behind. And though I have a job now (making maybe 75% less than before), I am still making regular payments to him, though it's not the full payment amount I was ordered to pay 3 years ago.

My question is, do I need to file an answer to his counterclaim? I am unfortunate in that I do not have access to a lawyer and am trying to do this pro se, so I'm not sure what my next step is.

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search