Georgia  |  Family Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/25/13, 7:14 am

If a ex spouse remarries will that lower my child support? Also if I remarry will that raise my child support??

4 Answers


Answered on: 8/25/13, 7:16 am by Scott Riddle

Read your court order. What does it say?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/25/13, 7:27 am by Glen Ashman

Generally no to both questions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/25/13, 10:52 am by Tahira Piraino

No. The new spouse of your husband/wife is not the one obligated to provide support for your children. You and your ex are. If you remarry, no unless there are other circumstances which change the prior order. If you really want an answer, I suggest you take your paperwork to an attorney and have him/her review what you consider a possible change of circumstances.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Tahira P. Piraino 3774 LaVista Road, Suite 101 Tucker, GA 30084

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/28/13, 1:45 pm by Robert Gardner

The child support worksheets used to calculate child support are based on the income of the parents, so the income of new spouses in and of itself do not result in a change in circumstances warranting a change in child support. However, there are many factors in determining the amount of support, such as cost of insurance, which can and will change over time, and a new spouse who carries insurance for a step child may come with a different cost. Additionally, a parent may marry and decide to quit their job, which can change all of the figures as well. I find that income changes are frequent, especially in the last few years, and the best thing to do is to get figures for both parents and sit down with a divorce attorney to see what the worksheets say child support should be now. That way you can make a determination as to whether there is any benefit or downside to attempting a modification.

The answer to this questions is informational only, and it is not intended to be legal advise. Only an attorney who has met with you and gone over all of the specific facts of your case can give you legal advice upon which you should rely. Follow up questions are welcome via the email below, and our firm offers free consultations via phone or in person. We have convenient offices in Winder, Jefferson, and Gainesville Georgia, and you should feel free to contact our office at (770) 307-4899, via email at hmgrmg@yahoo.com, or through our website: hicksmasseyandgardner.com.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Hicks, Massey & Gardner, LLP 53 W. Candler Street Winder, GA 30680

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search