Georgia | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Can an employer say upon the return to work that they would have fired you if you were not pregnant?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Fidlon |
There is nothing unlawful about such a statement. It essentially shows that the employer had a non-discriminatory, and therefore, lawful, reason for terminating you, but refrained from taking action due to your pregnancy. In other words, the employer could have terminated you because, for example, it perceived you as a poor performer, but it was worried that doing so might prompt you to file an EEOC charge or lawsuit against it. The statement, if anything, shows an overly-cautious employer, but not one with the intent to treat pregnant employees less favorably than non-pregnant employees.
LEGAL NOTICE: This forum is designed to provide general information only. The information provided does not constitute legal advice and no attorney-client relationship has been established. You waive any right to confidentiality by posting information on this site. Communications on this site do not and cannot substitute for a full consultation with an attorney practicing in your jurisdiction, and you are encouraged to consult with such an attorney for guidance regarding your individual circumstances. Do not take any action or inaction based on information presented herein since it may not be accurate or applicable to you. |
|
Read More Answered By: Paula McGill |
The employer may state that he would have fired you had you not been pregnant. However, do you have facts that would challenge his assertion. If so, and your employer is covered by the FMLA and pregnancy discrimination laws, you may want to file a complaint with the EEOC. I have provide links to both the Department of Labor and EEOC. The Dept of Labor covers the FMLA and the EEOC covers pregnancy discrimination. (www.dol.gov) (www.eeoc.gov) |
Top Attorneys in GA
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 140
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-10
Tran Lankford, Attorney at Law
Decatur, GA
Questions Answered: 136
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-13
Law Offices of Gregory R. Fidlon, P.C.
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-13
Taggart Morton
New Orleans, LA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-02
Barrett & Farahany, LLP
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 23
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-03-13
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Law Offices of Patricia A. Chandler
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-04-27
Search Questions and Answers


