Georgia  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/16/09, 9:05 am

Legal Question


I bought my girlfriend breast implants 1 week ago and now she's breaking up with me. Do I have any legal recourse in recouping the $5700 I spent on the surgery? If so, how would I go about filing a law suit?


question bubble
11/21/09, 9:14 am

Legal Answer


Unless you have a contract where she agreed to pay you, you made a gift and you can't sue to get gifts back.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/21/09, 9:19 am

Legal Answer


Lawsuit for what? Since you failed to state whether this was a loan or a gift, and the terms of the loan, I am not sure how you expect an answer. Did you have an agreement that she could not break up with you for a certain amount of time to avoid paying you back? If you simply gave her the money (directly or by paying the bill), without an agreement that it was a loan and she was going to pay it back, it is a gift. Treat it as a lesson -- personal and financial.

Scott Riddle

Scott B. Riddle, Attorney Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search