Georgia  |  Civil Litigation

Legal Question

Asked on: 9/11/13, 8:25 am

If a civil summons was served against you and you answered and counterclaimed, when and what do you do to begin the discovery process?

3 Answers


Answered on: 9/11/13, 8:36 am by Glenn M. Lyon, Esq.

As soon as the answer is filed. The initial term is six months, but it is often extended.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys 1230 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 3750 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/11/13, 10:28 am by Robert Gardner

The discovery process in State and Superior Courts begins from the time the answer is filed and runs for 6 months automatically. Discovery is not often attempted in magistrate courts. Conducting discovery without an experienced litigation attorney can be like wrestling an alligator in a meat suit, especially if the other side has an attorney.

The answer to this questions is informational only, and it is not intended to be legal advise. Only an attorney who has met with you and gone over all of the specific facts of your case can give you legal advice upon which you should rely. Follow up questions are welcome via the email below, and our firm offers free consultations via phone or in person. We have convenient offices in Winder, Jefferson, and Gainesville Georgia, and you should feel free to contact our office at (770) 307-4899, via email at hmgrmg@yahoo.com, or through our website: hicksmasseyandgardner.com.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Hicks, Massey & Gardner, LLP 53 W. Candler Street Winder, GA 30680

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 9/11/13, 11:47 am by Glen Ashman

Immediately, if you plan to do it. Doing discovery on your own is likely to be as successful as removing your own appendix. If you have a case in court, you needed a lawyer for the answer and counterclaim, and you still need one now.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search