Georgia  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
11/17/09, 11:53 am

Legal Question


My mother needs power of attorney for my dad (ages 84 & 89 respectively). In and of itself, no problem. However, she also wants to give both my sister & I power of attorney for each of them.

1. Is there any conflict here?

2. Is this 5-Powers of Attorney?


question bubble
11/22/09, 1:19 pm

Legal Answer


Giving multiple powers of attorney to multiple people presents or could present enormous and potentially disasterous or expensive legal problems. She needs to sit down with a lawyer and discuss what she actually should do.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 2:54 pm

Legal Answer


Well, it's legal, but it can cause problems. What if you and your sister can't agree upon a particular issue?

I never heard of 5-Powers of Attorney.

Charles W. Field

Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law 911 Duluth Hwy., Ste. D-3211 Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA 30043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search