Georgia  |  Intellectual Property

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/03/13, 5:07 pm

i need to copyright a new magazine soon to come out in june need direction - steps -- costs so i can prepare corectly

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/03/13, 5:40 pm by Scott Riddle

That is beyond the scope of this forum, so you need to see a lawyer who handles these matters.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/04/13, 5:17 am by Glenn M. Lyon, Esq.

First step, retain a good intellectual property attorney, business attorney and tax advisor. They will help you determine the next steps.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys 1230 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 3750 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/14/13, 11:00 pm by John Mitchell

You cannot use a lawyer to copyright your work. Due to a ridiculous treaty and resulting change in U.S. law, your magazine is copyrighted automatically the moment it is in a tangible medium of expression even if that was not your intention (unless you express a different intention right at the moment of you fix it in a tangible medium of expression). In other words, by the time you take it (or e-mail it) to your lawyer, it is already copyrighted.

You may be referring to copyright registration. Registration is not required, but has its benefits. If you want to sue for infringement in federal court, have it registered -- $30, the last time I registered anything (a recipe, to be specific).

You can register your work online without a lawyer using the Copyright Office website, copyright.gov. Still, you might want to hire a copyright lawyer to walk you through it, such as, for example, to figure out how best to protect each issue and any online version. But the best place to start is by going to the Copyright Office for initial guidance. See http://www.copyright.gov/circs/circ01.pdf for a really good and simple overview. Use the Copyright Office's information for the simple stuff, and hold onto your cash to pay a lawyer for the harder stuff.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Interaction Law 1629 K St., NW, Suite 300 Washington, DC 20006

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search