Georgia  |  Employment Law

question bubble
8/22/00, 10:33 am

Legal Question


cobra rights

I was laid off of my job as of 7/31/00 and given a Cobra letter from my employer explaining my rights to sign up for Cobra medical benefits within 45 days.

I have now received a letter from the benefits carrier stating my benefits have been cancelled by my employer as of 7/31/00 (the employer has stopped paying the carrier for my medical benefits). Therefore I been without benefits since 7/31/00.

Is the employe not legally responsible to keep paying for my benefits until I decide (or get another job) within the 45 day Cobra "grace" period?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search