Legal Question in Employment Law in Georgia

My employer lied to me and told me that I was legally an employee, when he put me as 1099. When I confronted him about it and said I was going to quit, he promised me that he would pay the taxes owed if I stayed. This was in June. I agreed to stay.

In August, two months later, I found another job and then quit. Now, during the tax season, my employer is telling me that he won't pay it, because I didn't stay. He insinuated that I had to stay permanently (until he fired me or let me go, or just forever) for him to keep his promise.

My question is, could that be considered a form of slavery? I know of a similar circumstance where a girl was made to pay her employers a lot of money because she didn't stay with them for five years per her contract. The judge considered that slavery. Could this be considered the same sort of thing?

Asked on 3/26/13, 9:42 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Of course not. You have an issue with taxes (and the IRS may be interested in the business). Deal with the real issue, not wild accusations like "slavery."

Read more
3/26/13, 9:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88177 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now