Georgia  |  Employment Law

question bubble
1/31/04, 12:55 pm

Legal Question


Overtime-Can I sometimes refuse??

I have worked at a plant location as a general laborer for 20 years.I have always worked an avg of 55-65 hrs per week-always working when asked with only a few rare exceptions.I am rarely given any type of fore-warning when being asked to work over-I am usually asked to work over when the lead man comes in-when my shift is ending.I have ALWAYS worked over whenever it did not conflict with prior obligations.I told my employer that I wouldn't be able to work over on a Saturday morning,due to a family obligation,I had already put in my 8 hr shift and finished a 60 hr week.My employer said he was going to write me up for refusing overtime and try to get me fired for it.My work record speaks for itself-Can my employer write me up and fire me for refusing to work over-on rare occasions only-I have asked that they give me a day's notice & I'll work it out to be there-if it has to be on short notice-I will be there as long as I don't have a previous obligation.

Is this legal?Thanks.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search