Georgia | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
What is the statual of limitation on filing a medical malpractice lawsuit?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Glen Ashman |
(note that there are exceptions to the below based on specific facts, so do not rely on these dates without retaining a lawyer as they may not apply to you)
Here is the general Georgia rule: Actions for medical malpractice must be commenced within two years of the date the act giving rise to the injury occurred. If a person was unable to discover the injury during that initial two year period of time, the limitations period may be extended. In cases where a health-care provider leaves an object in a person's body, the person has one year from the date of discovery to file suit. However, no medical malpractice action may be brought more than five years after the date that act giving rise to the injury occurred. These periods of limitation apply to minors, except that the statute of limitations cannot run prior to the minor's seventh birthday and the statute of repose cannot run until the claimant's tenth birthday. However, the one year rule relating to discovery of a foreign object within the patient's body applies to all plaintiffs regardless of age.
|
|
Read More Answered By: Charles W. Field |
Mr. Ashman is correct. Consult with a local attorney. |
Top Attorneys in GA
Ashman Law Office
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 8779
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 5580
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law
Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA
Questions Answered: 3531
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-27
Law Office of John A. Jackson, P.C.
Charleston, SC
Questions Answered: 720
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Thomas J. Hough, Jr., P.C.
Cartersville, GA
Questions Answered: 237
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-03-13
Law Offices of Cyrus K. Malekabadi
Alpharetta, GA
Questions Answered: 141
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-27
Rouse & Company, LLC
Snellville, GA
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-22
Robert S. Windholz, Attorney At Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-12
Chambers, Aholt & Rickard, LLP
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 69
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-06-22
Law Offices of Laurie M. Thomas
Savannah, GA
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-28
Search Questions and Answers


