Georgia  |  Military Law

question bubble
10/30/09, 8:43 pm

Legal Question


i was told that someone videotaped me coming out of female soldiers residence. We are both supposedly on the tape as well, but not sure if we were caught in a sexual act. they have used this vidoe tape to conduct a 15-6 and now are trying to hold a reduction board. is the video tape legal in military court?


question bubble
11/05/09, 9:25 am

Legal Answer


It may or may not be admissible in "military court" where the Rules of Evidence apply. Understand, however, that in administrative actions (like a reduction board) the admissibility of evidence is virtually open-ended. So the answer is, yes, they are likely within their discretion to consider the videotape(s) against you at a recution board.

Scot Sikes

Law Offices of Scot Sikes 1320 Wynnton Rd., Suite A Columbus, GA 31906

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search