Georgia  |  Native American Law

question bubble
3/09/08, 4:49 pm

Legal Question


native american funding

i am 1/8 cherokee.what financial opportunities are out there for me? we are trying to buy a house and im thinking about going back to school. thanks


question bubble
3/09/08, 5:16 pm

Legal Answer


Re: native american funding

Native American benefits usually depend upon tribal membership, and sometimes on living on reservation. Each tribe sets its own qualifications for membership. I'd guess the Cherokees have set the membership threshold well above 1/8; 50% is common but some tribes take members down in the 25% area if it can be proven clearly. The first step is to contact your tribe's enrollment officer.

The Cherokees are divided for membership purposes into several bands; one of the largest is:

Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma,

P.O. Box 948,

Tahlequah, OK 74465

This might be a good starting point. There is a lot of information on line, but be careful because there are some phony unofficial groups and sites taking applications and money.

Bryan Whipple

Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search