Georgia  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 11/24/06, 1:09 pm

Finding a Lawyer for a Mesothelioma case

2 weeks ago my grandfather was told that he had Mesothelioma after a routine surgery. My grandmother was asking me to do some research to find out what has to be done to find a lawyer. We are sure of his asbestos exposure. I just need to know what would be the next step in finding someone that has experience with such cases.

4 Answers


Answered on: 11/25/06, 12:10 am by Glenn Loewenthal

Re: Finding a Lawyer for a Mesothelioma case

First, sorry to hear about your grandfather. As for any legal action he may have, there will be several factors to look at, most notable pinpointing the source of the asbestos disease. Because of the number of asbestos lawsuits that have occurred over the past several years, many companies have gone bankrupt and are not viable defendants. Some that are left are on the brink of bankruptcy. So the first order of business is to determine the defendant to see if they are financially viable. If so the next step would be to get one or two top medical experts to confirm the asbestosis and connect it to the exposure, also to try to nail down the time when the exposure occurred. Bottom line, these are difficult and expensive cases, and they could take several years to complete, so be prepared to be in it for the long haul. My firm deals only with catastrophic injury and death cases and we would be happy to discuss this with you further. Please feel free to check my web site to see our credentials.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Glenn Loewenthal, P.C. 2300 Windy Ridge Parkway, Suite 205 Atlanta, GA 30339

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 12/03/06, 10:09 am by Allen Broughton

Re: Finding a Lawyer for a Mesothelioma case

Hi there, and I am sorry to hear about your grandfather. My firm has handled numerous cases involving mesothelioma, and would be happy to talk to you about your case. You can learn more about my firm and contact me at www.atlantatriallawyers.com.

I wish you the best of luck in however you choose to proceed.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Allen L. Broughton, P.C. 305 West Wieuca Road Atlanta, GA 30342

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/26/06, 4:38 pm by Scott Riddle

Re: Finding a Lawyer for a Mesothelioma case

Your best bet in finding a qualified lawyer is asking a lawyer you know (or the lawyer of a family member or friend) if they are aware of local lawyers with experience in this specific type of case. There are plenty around, but finding one just because they advertise or list it as a specialty is hit or miss, at best. Ask them how many of these cases they have handled. Mesothelioma cases have become somewhat of a sub-specialty.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 11/24/06, 1:25 pm by SHERRY RAGOLE

Re: Finding a Lawyer for a Mesothelioma case

You need to consider who will look out for your grandfather's best interests overall while not trying to take an unfair portion of the compensation that he may obtain. I am a registered nurse and an attorney who is experienced in assisting individuals facing personal health challenges, and I do not try to maximize my profits at my client's expense. I would be happy to discuss questions that you may have related to the selection of representation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


RAGOLE & ASSOCIATES, LLC P. O. Box 769089 Roswell, GA 30076

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

133 Answers given in the last few hours.

8661 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search