Georgia  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/15/09, 1:42 pm

Legal Question


I am told that in Georgia an insurance company has the right to offer only 80% of the total appraisal for a settlement and I have to accept even though the other driver was given a ticket for failure to yield the right of way.The only other option I was given was to pay my $1000 deductable and my insurance co would subrogate for me.With 20% being $230.00 that is not an appealing option. Do I have any other options where I can collect all my money? Is small claims court worth the time?


question bubble
11/20/09, 4:20 pm

Legal Answer


The insurance can offer whatever it wants, but you don't have to accept it. It is true that if your insurance companay pays they will go after the other driver. As to small claims court, if liability is clear, go for it. That way you avoid paying an attorney.

Charles W. Field

Charles W. Field, Attorney at Law 911 Duluth Hwy., Ste. D-3211 Lawrenceville (north Atlanta), GA 30043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search