Georgia  |  Product Liability

question bubble
11/12/09, 9:19 am

Legal Question


my company has a 15 day return policy on broken, defective merchandise. we sold some merchandise and after 3 months, the customer was complaining and is demanding a refund. my customer says that it was defective since the beginning, but she didn't get around to it until 90 days later. do i need to issue her a refund?


question bubble
11/17/09, 9:38 am

Legal Answer


The legal answer depends on information you did not give us (how you post and advertise the policy). So I can't address that. Your company lawyer should have advised you on how to post refund policies (and all businesses should have a lawyer).

From a customer service standpoint, if you are a reputable company, you'd do the right thing and do a refund anyway, and instead of having a mad customer bad-mouthing you you might retain a customer.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search