Georgia  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/03/13, 12:13 am

My brother has found a recently vacant house in Georgia. The bank just took possession of it in late January to mid February 2013. He is thinking of moving in it as a squatter or taking adverse possession. Will he get in any trouble doing this or can he possibly get away with this? What can the bank do to him? If he tries to battle this out, how long can he possibly stay in this house? Is it true possession is 9/10ths the law? What is the ideal way for my brother to squat and get away with it? When he moves in does he immediately file for adverse possession or wait?

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/03/13, 3:22 am by Scott Riddle

Yes, all those ideas are ridiculous. It is called trespassing, and it will almost always end up with an arrest. If free housing is what he wants, jail could be it. Perhaps your brother should consider being a productive member of society, getting a job, and paying his own way.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/03/13, 5:20 am by Glenn M. Lyon, Esq.

Stop getting your legal advice from the local news. Among other elements, adverse possession takes seven years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys 1230 Peachtree Street, NE, Suite 3750 Atlanta, GA 30309

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/03/13, 5:56 am by Glen Ashman

The consequence will likely be his incarceration. At best it's criminal trespass and at worst it's burglary.

As for your brother: please get him some mental health help, and please stop helping him to get himself arrested.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search