Georgia | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
Getting a deposit back when the lease has not been signed
I have a new tenant who was going to move in to the house I rent out, and they gave a deposit but have yet to sign the lease. They have now decided that they are not going to move in, and I am left with a mortgage to pay and no rent from them.
My question is since they have yet to sign the lease, can I legally keep the deposit (which was the amount of one month's rent)? Or since they have not signed the lease, do they have the right to getting their deposit back.
Thank you


