Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Georgia

I currently rent a house through VanMeter properties, but unlike many property management companies, VMProperties owners actually own all the properties they manage. They hide them in "Trust" Using the wife's maiden name as the trustee. Are they still accountable to the Georgia law that has stringent stipulations for landlords who own more than 10 properties? Also the deck support pillars are sitting on bricks as there only means of support, do I have a legal way to force them to repair the deck and make it safe?

Asked on 2/16/17, 6:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office

If the deck is unsafe call local city/county code enforcement. Whiletheycan cite the owner and force fixes, note that if it is a danger, you may be forced by your local government to move absent a quick fix.

Read more
Answered on 2/16/17, 10:20 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Georgia