Georgia | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
I have a boss that sends text messages, emails and calls my personal cell phone. I went to his boss to make a complaint, now he will not speak to me and we have to speak to each other based on our career. Is this now a hosstile enviroment? I tried to handle it myself but it did not work, I was told I should be flattered and he has went up for bat for me so many times. I have all the documentation. Should I turn to a law suit now?
Legal Answer
It may be based on the text messages, e-mails, or calls made to your personal cell phone. Whether a hostile work environment exists will depend on a number of factors, including the size of your company and the nature of the text messages, e-mails, and phone calls.
I would encourage you to contact my colleague, Thomas Plank, at tplank@heidariplank.com to speak with him about this issue.
Heidari Power Law Group, LLC PO Box 79217 Atlanta, GA 30357
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Among other things, you don't make it clear how you are being damaged now. But for the communication issues (which are not clear from your post), is the matter over? Have the calls and texting stopped?
You may or may not have a case, and even if you do, you might not have much damage. See a lawyer to be sure. There are many lawyers who specialize in this area of law as their primary practice. Check lawyers websites for more information. Those are the lawyers with whom you should consult. They will be likely be able to tell you right away if you have something worth pursuing and the good ones will tell you if it is not worth pursuing. Keep in mind that these things tend to stay with you in future employment.
Scott B. Riddle, Attorney Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
If you believe you have a harassment claim, you don't have to start with filing a lawsuit. Instead, review the EEOC web page on whether you qualify under Title VII. If so, you must file a complaint with the EEOC first before filing a sexual harassment claim. This is the law.
The EEOC website is www.EEOC.gov.
I have extensive experience in representing clients before the EEOC and it court once the EEOC process has concluded. If you need additional information, please contact me in my Atlanta office. (678)793-7745, 10 Glen Lake Parkway, Suite 130, Atlanta, GA 30328.
Paula McGill Attorney at Law 4800 Hampden Lane, Suite 200 Bethesda, MD 20814
► Other answers from this attorney

