Georgia | Traffic Law
Legal Question
On March 20, 2009 I received a traffic ticket for speeding in a work zone in Wellford, SC coming from my residence in Marietta, GA, on the way to visit a sick family member in New York. The officer told me that I was doing 76 MPH in a 45 MPH work zone on I-85 North, when in fact I was only going the same speed as the flow of traffic, and it did not exceed 60 MPH. He issued me a $450 speeding ticket, and rushed off as I was asking to see his speed gun. He never showed it to me. I have been to court and contested the ticket on April 15, 2009. While leaving court, I was informed that I would receive notification in the mail within two months. Today, August 27th, I have received a letter in the mail stating that I must reappear in court all the way in SC again for a trial by jury. Is this even legal? Especially since they had not contacted me within the 2 months (isn't that an expiration of the statute of limitations?). Please advise. I am clueless. Thank you for your help in advance and have a great day!
Corlan Beasley


