Legal Question in Traffic Law in Georgia

Regular traffic stop gone terribly wrong! I was arreseted in Georgia last night for driving while suspended which I hadn't known about. The police found a Controlled substance in my pocket luckily my boyfriend was loving enough to bring the prescription bottle to the scene to get me off the hook of a felony Regardless while under arrest they grabbed my pocket book and phone out of the car for me then they left the car untouched. Nowwwwww here's the messed up part, I'm sitting in the back seat of the car my property is in the front. When the tow truck arrived, the two officers did a thorough search of the car front seats glove compartments back seats under the seats and the trunk. They did not fore warn me they did not ask permission and they definitely did not have a warrant. What should I do?

Asked on 8/13/12, 5:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yiou could call a lawyer. You face up to a year in jail, and up to $1000 plus costs in fines. The search is irrelevant unless that caused additional charges.

Read more
8/13/12, 5:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now