Georgia  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/30/09, 9:08 pm

Legal Question


My grandfather passed away and he has 6 children. 3 of them have also passed leaving 3 children living. The 3 living were left the estate. Do the heirs of his 3 deceased children have any legal right to the estate?


question bubble
11/04/09, 9:35 pm

Legal Answer


Your question, as posted, cannot be answered. You didn't say if there was a will or not, although it sounds like there is. If there is, the answer depends completely on the wording of the will and since we have not read it, we can't answer.

Additionally you didn't state what state he was in, which also would affect the answer.

Glen Ashman

Ashman Law Office
2791 Main Street EAST POINT
Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/05/09, 11:25 am

Legal Answer


If there was a will, the terms of the will control the distribution of the estate. A will leaving an estate only to surviving children, with no provision for the descendants of a deceased child, is unusual (or was poorly drafted), and the language should be examined closely to see if this is in fact what was intended.

If there was no will, the children of a deceased child would be entitled to their parent's share.

Robert Thompson

J. Robert Thompson Attorney
309 Sycamore St.
Decatur, GA 30030

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search