Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Georgia

My uncle died and left a will stipulating his children are to have equal shares in his estate. He had property both in Georgia and in New York where his wife lives (he hasn't lived there for 25+ years but his name is still on the deed in New York). We found deeds where he transferred the property in Georgia to one of his children and the tax bills come in her name only - his is nowhere on it. My question is...do the other children have any claim to the property in Georgia or in New York?

Asked on 11/11/10, 8:18 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glen Ashman Ashman Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Property deeded in life is not part of the estate so it's not part of the will.

As to the NY prooperty you need to ask a NY Lawyer.

Read more
11/16/10, 9:27 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now