Illinois  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
9/01/10, 8:39 pm

Legal Question


A Big “thank you” to All of you that make this website so valuable and credible. These are treacherous times for people in need of help, with dozens of websites providing help, only to be "bankruptcy mills" taking many of us to slaughter. I am grateful for sound, decent, and honest advice.

I want to know what relief is available for people who arre upside down on their mortgage, only owe secured loans (mortgaged their home to save their business), have no credit card debt, unsecured debt, BUT exceed the Chapter 7 income qualification in Illinois, AND can't afford a payment plan under Chapter 13?

Is there any Relief for people like me? I am also in the foreclosure process.

I would definitely like to keep my home, if possible, but cannot afford the present mortgage. I’ve always had excellent credit, so would welcome ideas to negotiate with the bank, refinance at a lower price, etc. instead of foreclosure or bankruptcy. However, I am realistic, so I am looking at all of the dreaded “options” for someone in my situation.

If you were in my shoes, what steps would you take besides hiring a qualified attorney? What options are available, in general terms?

Thank you for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search