Illinois | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
I filed a Chapter 13 and I am no longer working. I am delinquent in the amount of 473.00. Is there anyway I can reinstatement my chapter 13 if I become employed before my scheduled date of dismissal? Or what options do I have?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Adam Tracy |
Thank you for your question. If you are unable to continue making payments under you Chapter 13 plan, the Trustee will likely file a motion to have your case dismissed. It is possible to delay the dismissal of a Chapter 13 case on the grounds that there is a reasonable likelihood that you will be returning to work. You can also petition the court to modify the plan to make for a lower monthly payment.
Finally, provided you qualify, you can move to convert the case to a Chapter 7 and wipe out the debt altogether while keeping your home, car etc. My guess is since you are no longer working, that a Chapter 7 may be an option.
Feel free to email me with any further questions; adam@630bankruptcy.com
Thanks |
Top Attorneys in IL
Charles Wm. Dobra, Ltd.
Roselle, IL
Questions Answered: 1079
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-06-30
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Law Office of Sue Roberts-Kurpis
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 555
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Huck, Bouma, Martin, Jones & Bradshaw, P.C.
Wheaton, IL
Questions Answered: 257
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Offices of Thaddeus Hunt
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 190
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-12-12
Law firm of Caroline Palmer
Chicago Heights, IL
Questions Answered: 185
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-08-01
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Office of Frank L. Vosholler III
Lockport, IL
Questions Answered: 105
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-27
Search Questions and Answers


