Illinois  |  Bankruptcy

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/15/10, 9:14 pm

Someone owes me money for services rendered, but they filed bankruptcy in Illinois and then moved to Florida. I called them and emailed several times, but they will not answer. I know if I sent them to collection before they filed, I would be out of luck on collecting. But what if I sent them to collection after they filed bankruptcy, would they then be responsible for that bill?

2 Answers


Answered on: 6/16/10, 4:07 am by Caroline Palmer

It depends on whether they included the debt in their bankruptcy estate. If you weren't notified by the court to come and defend your rights, then it probably wasn't and you can still try and collect.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law firm of Caroline Palmer 210 Mecherle Chicago Heights, IL 60606

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/16/10, 6:47 am by Frank Vosholler

No in IL, there is a mendiola law, if you owed the money at the time of filing and it would of been discharged because it is unsecured, then it will be deemed discharged as well.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Frank L. Vosholler III 611 Rodney Ct. Lockport, IL 60441

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

213 Answers given in the last few hours.

7573 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search