Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

Bank Account Signature Liability

My parents own a small business. The business is a corporation. They want me to be able to sign checks in the event that they die unexpectedly. The paperwork that the bank wants me to sign has a liability section. Part of that paragraph states as follows: ''Each of you also agrees to be jointly and severally liable for any account shortage or overdrafts, whether caused by you or another with access to this account.''

I don't want the bank to come after me if something bad happens -- after all it is not my business and I have no control over it. Is there a way my parents can give me the power to sign checks without being added to the signature lists of the bank accounts?

Asked on 1/13/08, 6:47 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Bank Account Signature Liability

You may be able to use a power of attorney for signature purpsoses.

Read more
Answered on 1/13/08, 7:27 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now