Legal Question in Business Law in Illinois

If a customer overpays you at the register where you work and does not notice and then leaves the store, is there a legal obligation ? Would there be penalties ? Would it be a crime or a tort ?

Asked on 5/09/13, 7:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Moens Moens Law Offices, Chartered
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I would say yes to all of your questions, and suggest that even more important is the moral obligation, as in common decency, trust, good business relationships, etc.

Read more
5/09/13, 8:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Business Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now