Illinois | Business Law
Legal Question
I'm starting a trucking business with a friend but want to make sure our personal assets are not at stake in any liability situation. Which is better, an LLC or and S Corporation?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: David Labovitz |
I think you are equally protected under either an LLC or S corporation. There may be some tax benefit one way or the other, depending on the nature of your business. I suggest you ask your accountant for advice as to whether there would be a tax benefit choosing one form of entity over the other. |
|
Read More Answered By: Kenneth J. Ashman |
While it is true that insofar as liability protection is concerned, an Illinois LLC or a corporation should provide similar benefits, it should be noted that the law concerning limited liability companies is less developed in Illinois than that for corporations. (An "S" corporation is simply a federal tax designation, whereas the creation of a corporation is a matter of state law.) There is at least one provision of the Illinois Limited Liability Company Act that would seem to provide more protection than that afforded by a corporation, and since there is a dearth of case law interpreting this provision, one could argue that an LLC affords somewhat more protection than a corporation.
I typically recommend my clients engage in business as an LLC over a corporation, even though the Illinois Secretary of State charges a few hundred dollars more to create and maintain. Furthermore, if you're engaging in business with a friend, the most important item will be the Operating Agreement, which would spell out the rights/obligations of each of you.
-- Kenneth J. Ashman; Ashman Law Offices, LLC; KAshman@AshmanLawOffices.com
The information provided by Ashman Law Offices, LLC (“ALO”) is for general educational purposes only. No attorney-client relationship is established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. ALO is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and ALO have signed a written retention agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain ALO on terms acceptable to ALO, you should immediately seek the services of another attorney. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
Highland, IN
Questions Answered: 7334
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Michael R. Nack, Attorney at Law
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moens Law Offices, Chartered
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Patrick J. Tracy, Esq, P.E.,
Garrett Park, MD
Questions Answered: 528
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-17
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Rosenblat & Associates, Ltd.
Northbrook, IL
Questions Answered: 437
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Search Questions and Answers


