Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Illinois

I live in a motel.For the past three days there has been a police officer putting his ear to my door to listen before he knocks. He only knocked last night cause i was washing dishes and he herd. I opened the door and he tried to step in and said okay i smell it (insisting we smoked weed). I told him i don't smell anything and stood in front of him. He kinda stepped back because he knew i was right. He ended with if your going to smoke spray some air freshener because it smells out here. Out side of my door is outside not a hallway so it could of came from anywhere. The other two nights i was already in bed and there was no noise in the room so I herd his radio go off. I looked through my peep hole and he was just putting his ear to my door trying to listen if I was up. I find it a little weird or invasion of privacy that this guy is going around listening to peoples doors. Is there anything i can do to get this Police officer in trouble?

Asked on 10/18/13, 8:09 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sal Sheikh www.looplawfirm.com
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Complain to his employer.

Read more
10/19/13, 10:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now