Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Illinois

my question is the police came to my house busted my door open with a iron instrument put guns on me. gave me a search warrant threw my son and brother down and put them in hand cuffs . they search my home from top to bottom inch by inch . they even brought in a search dog . I asked them what are they looking for, they said seat down and don't move. they search for three hours they found nothing . they grab their tools an left. no sorry no nothing . this is the second time someone sent the police here, I am afraid someone might get shot. do I have a case against them.

Asked on 4/07/13, 2:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

George Ellis The Ellis Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Given what you've described, there's probably no case here. They had a search warrant. Assuming the warrant was valid, they had the right to secure the premises including the persons present.

Read more
4/09/13, 11:31 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now