Illinois  |  Construction Law

question bubble
4/08/09, 2:50 pm

Legal Question


Home Remodeling

I am writing on the behalf of a friend. My friend signed contract with construction company to add addition to a existing home. The $30,000 home remodeling contract agreement was sign in April 2008 with a 50% deposit payment. The construction company started construction in October 2008 and stop work in November of 2008. The construction company return breifly in April 2009. However, the construction company stopped again stating weather issues. The building permit is set to expired in April 20, 2009 and the house is exposed. My friend would like to know if she has a legal case. The construction company was paid $15,000 in April 2008 however they did not start construction on the home until October 2008. The addition is only 30% completed and the building permit is set to expire soon.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search