Illinois  |  Construction Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/01/11, 8:41 pm

We live in the state of IL. A contractor did concrete work on our stoop and walkway. The work was done poorly and when we requested the work to be redone he refused.

Now he has filed a lien against our property.

If he forecloses on his lien will be only get the amount the filed on the paperwork? Could he take our house? How can we dispute the lien or defend against it?

The work was done poorly.

thank you,

Ann

1 Answer


Answered on: 2/03/11, 6:28 am by Stephen Messutta

First you need to look at your contract for your rights and remedies. Second filing of a lien is highly technical and the contractor could have screwed it up. Third you can for force the issue by filing suit and if the contractor sues you can defend. You may need to have the work fixed to prove damages. See an attorney who can help with all of this.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

141 Answers given in the last few hours.

7513 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search