Illinois  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
2/26/02, 12:35 pm

Legal Question


Can my email be seen as libel

I have an ex-landlord that did not refund my security deposit w/in an allotted amount of time. After multiple attempts to contact him (calls and emails) he never got back to me. In order to get him to contact me, I sent an email (under an email address that resembles his name) to his entire company (he is a lawyer at a local firm) asking if they have seen him because he owes me a good deal of money. In the email I asked if he was hurt or if they had seen him because I was concerned about him not getting back to me.

Now, he is threatening a libel case against me. There were no untruths in the email, I was careful on that point, but I did send it from an email close to his name. Could I brought into court for this? Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search