Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Illinois

Do I have to pay my deceased spouse's medical bills and those that have also gone to collections if they are only in his name. There is no money in his estate.

Asked on 12/01/10, 1:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Caroline Palmer Law firm of Caroline Palmer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. The creditors will have to collect the money from your deceased spouse's estate but if your name is not on the accounts then you are not personally liable.

Read more
Answered on 12/06/10, 1:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now