Illinois  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 5:30 pm

Legal Question


I am the primary on a car loan but the co-signer has possession of the vehicle. Car payments are not being made. Can I take possession of the vehicle? If yes, when and how should I go about doing it? Can I have the vehicle repossessed without her consent? What other options do I have? Can I force her to refinance the car in her name? Can I refinance the car in my name without her consent which would make me the sole owner of the vehicle?


question bubble
11/22/09, 6:24 pm

Legal Answer


Yes you can take possession any time. The vehicle will be repossessed if no payments are made. You could sue her. You cannot force her to refinance. You cant get her name off the title without her consent.

Joseph Michelotti

Michelotti & Associates, Ltd. 1200 Jorie Blvd. Suite 329 Oak Brook, IL 60523

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search