Illinois  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/17/09, 2:59 pm

Legal Question


I have been summoned to court over a debt collection. on the summons it states that " if you fail to do so, a judgement by default may be taken against you for the relief asked in the complaint". I am diasabled and my disability check is my only source of income, I have no property, monies, or anything of value. MY QUESTION- IF I DO NOT GO TO COURT, CAN THEY PUT OUT A WARRENT FOR MY ARREST, FOR THIS TYPE OF COURT ACTION WITH THE AFORE MENTIONED CLAUSE ON THE SUMMONS?


question bubble
11/22/09, 3:21 pm

Legal Answer


They cant put out a warrant for your arrest, but they could issue a body attachment later on if you dont appear on a citation. Best to cal the plaintiff's attorney and tell her the situation

Joseph Michelotti

Michelotti & Associates, Ltd. 1200 Jorie Blvd. Suite 329 Oak Brook, IL 60523

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search