Illinois  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 9:20 am

Legal Question


I was summoned for a credit card debt. I have to file a written appearance. I'm not sure how to go about this. Should I try to contact my creditor to see if I can settle without going to court? Please help me. It's this thursday. I can't afford to hire a lawyer..


question bubble
11/21/09, 3:26 pm

Legal Answer


Your options would be too settle or file bankruptcy. However, at this point, unless you can make a large lump sum settlement, they are unlikely to settle with you. They would likely continue in court and simply garnish your wages. There are affordable options available. Please feel free to email me if you have any further questions; adam@630bankruptcy.com

Adam Tracy

The Tracy Firm, Ltd. 800 W. Fifth Ave., Suite 201A Naperville, IL 60540

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search