Illinois  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
8/09/10, 10:20 pm

Legal Question


I understand that a debtor's business income is unprotected (not exempt) as far as collections or a judgment is concerned. However, if the business is a sole proprietorship, or if the debtor is an independent contractor (secretarial service or computer consultant), and the income thus far is less than $4000, is the income still unprotected?

I have no other income, no job in the last 2 years, so I would like to freelancing; however I can't operate in Chicago without a business license.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search