Legal Question in Criminal Law in Illinois

We own a small business in Illinois & have been doing a large amount of work for a very large company. The office contact who we have been dealing with has now stated that if we don't give her money, we will get no more work from her (she is an office girl & doesn't not work in the corporate office which is in another state). We gave her 500.00 dollars cash 2 weeks ago, and now she just texted us that she wants more money next week. We didn't print a copy of her text for the initial conversation asking for money, but we did print the text for the conversation for more money this time. She is wanting more money this time and she is calling it her "commission". We feel that this is extortion and are sure that their corporate headquarters would be extremely upset over this. Do we have cause for a law suit?

Asked on 7/13/13, 5:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should contact the police, and an attorney. Cause for a lawsuit? Sure if this is in fact extortion, which it sounds like. But without proof, you will have nothing. You need help.

Read more
7/16/13, 2:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88333 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now