Illinois | Education Law
Legal Question
can a 5 yr old that will be 6 be removed from 1st grade and placed back into kindergarten after being accepted?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Walter Palmer |
Normally the child must be six before the child can START first grade. Boys develop more slowly than girls and need the extra time.
First, I don't quite know what you mean by "Accepted". I'm going to assume that means that s/he was promoted to First Grade.
The answer is yes. The decision as to which grade the child should be in is simply ministerial. This means that the school can place students where they think they should be. Even back in the fifties, I remember when one of my classmates spent a week or two in sixth grade and was put back in fifth because the school did not feel that he was ready. There is no law governing this and the courts will VERY rarely become involved.
Realize that this decision was probably not made lightly because the school almost certainly knew that you would consult legal counsel. |
Top Attorneys in IL
Ainsworth & Associates PC
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Law Offices of Motty Stone
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
The Tracy Firm, Ltd.
Naperville, IL
Questions Answered: 239
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Law Office of Walter Palmer
Chicago Heights, IL
Questions Answered: 209
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-19
Zedrick Braden III
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 207
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-11-11
LAWYERCHICAGO.COM - 773-544-1370
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 36
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Omoniyi Law Firm, P. C.
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 27
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-05-30
Sahgal Law Office
Oak Brook, IL
Questions Answered: 19
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-02-27
Law Office of Hale Yadede
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 16
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-10
Thomas T. Schlake Law Offices
Des Plaines, IL
Questions Answered: 13
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-03-02
Search Questions and Answers


