Illinois  |  Education Law

question bubble
11/01/09, 1:31 pm

Legal Question


I would like to withdraw my nine year old asperger's son from public school in Illinois. Can I legally do this without school causing me any problems? Thanks


question bubble
11/06/09, 3:08 pm

Legal Answer


Yes. Home schooling is very liberally granted in Illinois. As long as you are doing a decent job and have notified the school, you should be okay, unless the child is the subject of a court order requiring someone else's consent. For example, if you are a joint custodian, you will normally need to get approval of the other custodian, as otherwise you risk a custody modification suit by an irate other custodian claiming they want the child because it needs to be in school. The other custodial parent might well win that suit if the Judge thinks the kid should be in public school.

Bruce Burdick

Burdick Law Firm 3832 Omega Street. Alton, IL 62002-2100

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search